LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

Man Hands Out Money On 65th Birthday

http://www.myrecipes.com/menus/best-birthday-cake-recipes-10000001736374/

Jim Cantwell, who writes a wonderfully inspiring blog (read the one about his wife graduating from nursing school, it will bring tears to your eyes) at http://jimcantwell1.wordpress.com/ forwarded me the address (http://www.abcactionnews.com/dpp/news/local_news/water_cooler/man-hands-out-cash-on-road-for-his-birthday) to the following news item. I have copied it from their website, which I hope will not cause me to receive any legal notices. But I wanted to make everyone aware of yet another random act of compassionate kindness.

Also kudos to ABC Action News and CNN for publishing and airing this piece. They didn’t have to, but someone made a courageous decision and ran with it.

This type of impulsive kindness is what I am writing back. I hope this will continue to spread globally. If anyone has any information about other acts of compassion please forward them to me via the comment section of this blog or my private email stephenedwards922@gmail.com.

Please folks all it takes is a smile, a happy tone in your voice, a thank you, a please, or sometimes just a slight nod of your head to make another human being feel better.

Be encouraged!

Posted: 07/12/2012

  • By: CNN modified

Instead of being showered with gifts on his birthday, an Oklahoma City man is showering strangers with money.

As Doug Eaton’s 65 th birthday approached, he turned to his friends for advice.

“I asked a bunch of my friends on Facebook what should I do on my 65th and I got a whole long list of stuff and one of my friends said, ‘Why don’t you do 65 random acts of kindness?’”

Many people are used to being asked to donate money at intersections in the road, but Eaton was inspired to do something unusual:  hand out $5 bills to people who passed the corner of intersection where he stood.

He stood at the corner of 39 th St. and May, holding a sign as many homeless people had done time and again.

Eaton handed out cash out for 65 minutes, symbolic for his 65 years of life. People were unsure what to think, and some drove by several times to make sure they read the sign correctly. Others told Eaton to continue paying it forward.

“Doug doesn’t need the money, so he is just having fun,” said one of his friends.

For Eaton, the act of giving turned out to be its own gift.

“ It’s just been fantastic. Some people who don’t take the money say, ‘Man, I love what you are doing. I won’t take it but give it to somebody who needs it.’”

Copyright CNN

Read more: http://www.abcactionnews.com/dpp/news/local_news/water_cooler/man-hands-out-cash-on-road-for-his-birthday#ixzz21CfBonTr

Single Post Navigation

29 thoughts on “Man Hands Out Money On 65th Birthday

  1. Hey Stephen,
    Thank you so much for the kind words and ping-back to my blog, I really appreciate them. What this guy did is awesome on so many levels, it should be a required course in schools in this country. I have the unique opportunity to sit and just watch what is going on, as I am not tied to a chair for work, pretty much all the time. If you can just go to a busy little coffee shop and sit and watch what goes on, you will be surprised to see how much random “gestures” of kindness do go on.
    But then again you will see some not so pleasant gestures too, that is what needs to be worked on. I think it is just changing peoples mindsets that what they are SO busy doing, really is not that important that they cant be nice, or show some common decency to their fellow woman or man.
    In case any of your friends here on your incredible blog do wish to read the post of mine you spoke of I will insert it here for everyone’s convenience.
    Thanks Again :)
    http://jimcantwell1.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/a-truly-inspiring-story/

  2. Hey Stephen
    Nice idea!I think I will do it this birthday.

  3. Pingback: A Great Way To Celebrate Birthdays « Wealthymatters

  4. What a selfless and beautiful thing to do…Diane

  5. Travel Culture Food on said:

    I’ve nominated you for an award. Feel free to accept or not. I’m easy going :D! Cheers! & Congrats!
    TCF<3

    • I think there is probably a good chance you listed my blog by mistake…maybe you were partaking in some weird alcohol drinking rituals and typed in my blog as worthy of an award…but whatever the reason I’m going to accept…I won’t make it official on the blog for awhile because I am trying to get my book done…you know you are in trouble when the publisher is calling weekly asking how the manuscript is coming along.

      I finally asked them the other day if they ever think of me in any other terms than walking dollar sign…they weren’t too happy…I think they believe I am one of those “difficult” authors…hahaha.

      Have a great week and…be encouraged!

  6. Great idea, thank you for sharing it with the rest of us! Every month a give a sum of money to my favourite charity organzation. But I’ve also this philosophy; if I can afford to buy something I don’t really need, then I can also afford to give the same amount to a charity organization.

    On to another subject, I’m seriousely thinking about giving up my email for ever, and instead use the service of a pigeon. I wonder how far they can travel, and how much they cost… It seems that my email has decided to take a vacation, without telling me when it’s coming back. It has been away for 6 days – can’t open it, can’t read, or send… But I’m not going to get upset, I am not… :).

    • You are in serious need of IT assistance (as if you didn’t already know that)…sounds like you’ve been hit by a really nasty virus…hope you get it straightened out…Susie and I are awaiting some more emails with details of your early speaking experiences. :)

      Much love and hope your email gets well soon.

      Be encouraged!

  7. What a great story Stephen, thank you for sharing it. It certainly has started my mind thinking about what I would like to do for my birthday. Giving back is always more fun than getting. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • First thanks for your comments…and I am ecstatic that this post is causing you to thinking…that is always my goal…just for people to think about how they live.

      I have very high hopes this will become a new tradition for people around the world…on all our holidays we get…wouldn’t it be awesome to have a day where we give…and what better day than our birthday…I have always honored my parents on my birthday, by never working…I take the day off and give thanks for how well they raised me and instilled values in me…but I think I can continue to honor them by giving gifts to others in their name.

      Thanks again for commenting and…be encouraged!

  8. What a great story. I wish we would hear more about goodness in people in the news and not so much on the bad. There are so many good people out there. Thanks for sharing.

    • While I share your hope about more good news…I admit sometimes I hope we keep it all under the mainstream news outlet’s radar…because I worry about it becoming the next “hip” thing…where movie stars, politicians, and cool people living in funny looking condos in the “art” neighborhoods start doing it…then just as suddenly as it all started, it will fade away…I’m hoping for a true grass roots from the bottom up type of campaign that doesn’t become the latest cool thing, but instead becomes a tradition that people pass along to their children…like Christmas, Halloween, etc… :)

      Be encouraged!

  9. Stephen, what a wonderful story… There really are some amazing people out there that we need to learn from.. Thanks for sharing!

    • Hey thanks for the gracious words…as I’ve noted in my replies to other’s comments, I am in hopes this type of thing catches on, not as a “cool thing” to do, but as a tradition that gets passed from parents to kids to grandkids, and so on. My wife, Susie and I are starting it with our Grandson…on his next birthday (he will be seven) we are going to get seven gifts, wrap them, then give them out to kids in the park. The seven gifts will be bought throughout the year so we can keep the idea in his mind.

      Blessings to you and yours.

      Be encouraged!

  10. What a neat story–and how fun that there were people who didn’t take his money so that others could have it!

    • I know…I was as blessed by the people who didn’t take his money as I was by him giving it out in the first place. There truly are some very incredible people out there who don’t dress in the coolest clothes, or wear the hippest glasses, or drive the newest vehicles, or carry the latest iphone, yet they are changing the lives of others through random acts of kindness…of course there are also those who have the latest clothes, glasses, vehicles, and iphone who are performing compassionate acts of kindness. The point is we can’t judge the book by the cover, only the heart. Bless them all.

      Be encouraged!

  11. What a wonderful story… You know, part of the tradition I grew up with includes doing benevolent acts on birthdays and special days. Giving out alms to the poor and other such acts are considered an important way to honor our life and show gratitude; even more so than having a birthday party. :-)

  12. wonderful story ! what a beautiful gift sharing this with us !!!! i was looking about hope on internet tonight :) you give me a lot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 495 other followers

