LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

www.carnivalcommunications.wordpress.com

I have had the opportunity to read several of this lady’s posts. Each one is wonderful. I have no idea who she is, but like her, I also have a special place in my heart for children. Every day I see a child’s wonder taken away by a parent who verbally snaps at a child with cutting words. I hear the venom in their voice as they react to a situation with their little one. Then I watch as the child tries to make it better, either by shutting down or trying again with some other words, even sometimes with the same words. Hoping somehow this time they will have a different outcome.

This post has nothing at all to do with my usual subjects of motivation, positive thinking, and passion, yet it does. Not like usual, but let me tell you the greatest motivation you can give a child is to listen to them.

So please, I beg of you, take the time today to listen to your children. If they are young and at home ask them about something they are interested in, then shut up. Don’t correct their syntax, just listen. Let them talk as long as they want. I know they can talk forever. Fine, let them. Dinner can be late. If you must, drag a chair over for them to sit or stand on while you work, but let them talk and you listen.

If they’re grown, call them and ask about their life. Then be quiet and listen. Don’t talk about what is happening in the family, just listen. They’ll tell you more stuff than you can imagine. Don’t comment, just listen. Don’t wait to get a word in, just listen. Let them burn up the airwaves.

The words above in bold are written that way for a reason…I am begging. Try it. You will be amazed. If you really want to go all out and make a difference that will last a lifetime…do it every day…but do it at least today…I beg of you.

Be encouraged.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “www.carnivalcommunications.wordpress.com

  1. Reblogged this on carnivalcommunications and commented:
    I am reblogging this post for 2 reasons: 1st to offer a sincere Thank You for the supportive and kind recommendation from LifeRevelation re: my blog, and 2nd because LifeRevelation is a GREAT BLOG! Please check it out. You may wind up having a great day as a result!

  2. Reblogged this on sharonhope and commented:
    Please read this and I challenge you to do what he says today and everyday thereafter. What he says is so true, venomous words hurt a person, young or old.

  3. I reblogged this with a challenge to my readers to do this everyday.

Leave a Reply

