LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

Let’s Go the Other Way

This lying thing seems to have set off a firestorm.

I am glad.

I have had comments from literally hundreds of people who are simply sick and tired of being lied to on every level of their life. From the nurse at the doctor’s office who tells them, “Please have a seat, the doctor will see you momentarily.” to “Yes, Darling, I do love you.” to “Please hold, all of our operators are busy. Our next available operator will be with you shortly.” They have been lied to by family members, lovers, church members, grocery store clerks, ministers, funeral home directors, teachers, coaches, authors, politicians, governments, in short, by nearly everyone they come in contact with during their daily life.

People have ย emailed, phoned and stopped me in restaurants to share their thoughts on why people lie. Their ideas range from fear of name your subject, pride, the environment, genetics, DNA, chromosomes, gender, income, geographical location, age, race, life style, income, mindset, weather, religion, sexual preference, hair color (!), and nearly every other type of demarcation you can think of.

But I wonder if we are not looking at the wrong end of the stick.

By that I mean should we be concentrating our efforts on not lying or should we be focusing on telling the Truth?

Several years ago I took up mountain biking. I had been an ultra-distance runner for several years and after running across the United States I had retired. I stopped doing anything resembling exercise. I didn’t watch my diet. I did nothing to break a sweat and ate whatever I wanted, which meant a lot of fast food. Predictably, after a few years, my mid section began to expand, the muscle tautness said good-bye and I started to look like someone who eats a lot and is allergic to exercise. So one of my friends called and said, “Hey you are getting fat. We have an extra bike, why don’t you go ride with us?” So not having any excuse, other than, I don’t want to, I went.

I loved it. It was fun to grunt up a hill and bomb down the back side like I did when I was a kid. The rush I got from the exhilaration of flying downhill like a maniac was balanced by the intensity and effort it required to get up the hill. the only drawback was my riding skills were a little rough, but considering I hadn’t been on a bicycle since I was 16 years old and received my driver’s license, I felt his was understandable.

On the last downhill I scanned the trail ahead and noticed a deep rut in the middle. Immediately I understood I needed to avoid the rut and here is where I learned my first mountain biking lesson. You do not look at what you are trying to miss, you look at where you want to go. So as I stared at the rut, I inexplicably rode right into it. The front wheel twisted, the bike came to an abrupt halt, the rear end came up, and I went head first over the handlebars. This is when I suffered a repeat of mountain bike lesson #1. You don’t watch where you don’t want to go. On the other side of the rut was a an egg-shaped rock, about the size of my head, with the small pointy end sticking up facing me, embedded in the ground. As I watched, my chin made a bee line for it. BAM!!!

You don’t concentrate on where you don’t want to go.

So if lying is what we want to avoid, shouldn’t we focus on telling the Truth? Instead of having a NO LYING DAY, we should have a TELL THE TRUTH DAY.

TELL THE TRUTH DAY!

Seems like a good idea to me. Please comment and let me know what you think.

Be encouraged!

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Let’s Go the Other Way

  1. I completely agree, Stephen. We should focus not on what we want to avoid, but rather what we want to achieve. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Great idea! casual lying has become so ubiquitous that few seem to care anymore… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The casual lie is only the very top tip of the iceberg…the long, wide, deep portion where family members lie to one another, teachers lie to students, bosses lie to employees, corporations lie to governments, and governments lie to governments,society and cultures lie to societies and cultures…is where the real worry should be. It has become so ingrained in who we are, it is no longer considered an anomaly.

      Somehow, someway, be encouraged!

  3. I like the bike story. You are so good at story lessons, Stephen! I am pretty good with Truth, as much as I can discern it. However, aiming towards where one wants to go seems very important, although a little more difficult if it assumes one can see the path ahead. Avoiding the pitfalls though, that seems doable! ~ Lily

    • Hi Lily, Thanks again for commenting…you know how much I love hearing from you. BTW…Susie and Jake the Wonder Dog say hi.

      “Avoiding the pitfalls though, that seems doable!” Indulge me while I tell you a story. ๐Ÿ™‚

      My first attempt at training for a 24 hour bicycle race required for me to ride from dusk to dawn, just so I would physically and mentally know what to expect. So there I am with Susie getting everything set up on my bike to ride. We adjusted lights and made sure they all aimed properly for me see and be seen. I started as the sun began to dip behind the horizon and the shadows started to lengthen. The first half hour was easy. No problem. There was still enough ambient light to see by. After that it started to get kind of interesting. One of things I quickly discovered, once it got pitch dark, was I couldn’t tell the difference between a patch on the roadway and a pothole. This wasn’t so bad if the dark spot I rode up to was a patch, but it quickly turned problematic if it was a pothole.

      The pitfalls in life can come camouflaged. They may look entirely different as you cruise up on them, then…BLAT! You ram into one that just jars the bejesus out of you. What I’ve learned in riding that night was to avoid the appearance of a pothole. So if a black patch came into headlight beam, I stirred clear of it. Did it make for a less than perfect ride, well yeah it did. But the important thing was, I was left upright, unscathed, and without any damage to my ride. Plus as a bonus at the end I got to go home with Susie. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Be encouraged!

      • Ha, good story, I should have said, “avoiding the Obvious pitfalls…” but then, if obvious, of course we’d steer clear, if we could! Your story amends as follows: “avoid the obvious and possible pitfalls, when able to do so.” Off I go, down the road…
        Good evening to you, Susie, and JTWD! ~ Lily

      • Have a good evening…and see ya again soon.

        Be encouraged!

  4. Exactly: shouldn’t we focus on telling the TRUTH?!

    • I’m about to start a series on something we don’t hear much about anymore…virtues.

      I know it is old fashion and thought of as out of step with our modern culture, but just maybe, it is what our world needs.

      Hey thanks for taking the time to write…I really do appreciate it.

      Be encouraged!

  5. Focus on the truth I say!

Leave a Reply

