LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

OH YEAH…now this is what I mean by encouragement! Nobody has informed this little girl about what she is unable to do…only encouraged her to do what she can do…and look where it has taken her.

I got a idea…go out and find some little kid and say something encouraging to them…then just watch their faces light up…it will do your soul good…and who knows how encouraging it will be to them.

Be encouraged!

Jenny's Serendipity Art Blog

First Grader Without Hands Wins National Penmanship Award.

Despite being born without hands, first grader Annie Clark of Pennsylvania’s Wilson Christian Academy recently won the Nicholas Maxim Special Award for Excellent Penmanship which is part of the Zaner-Bloser 21st Annual National Handwriting Contest. For winning, Annie will receive $1,000 and a trophy.

Very inspiring!

Thought of pressing this very touching article…Kudos to Annie who wants to be a writer…

Source Article: Laughing Squid

View original post

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “

    • Awesome isn’t she? I called the company who sponsors this award, Zaner-Blaser Publishing and left a message explaining how beneficial I believe this award is not only to Annie Clark the recipient, but also to all of us who seek to enrich lives, but live worrying about all the fears that creep up on us. The only problem with my message was I was still crying and probably sound more like a drunk who dialed the wrong number than someone who sincerely wanted to thank them…lol.

      Thanks for your comment.

      Be encouraged!

      • I know that I am going to share this with my 12 year old daughter and my granddaughter when they come in from playing, to help them change the attitudes of “I Can’t Do It” and “It’s Too Hard for me”! What an amazing little girl, to overcome a disability like that! She certainly deserves recognition for being an overcomer!

      • Yes she does…and the incredible part of this is now you are going to use her courageous accomplishment to inspire your daughter and granddaughter…how cool is that?

        This is EXACTLY why I write…to move folks (me first actually) to create better lives for themselves…thank you for letting me know.

        Be encouraged!

      • Thank you again. I just showed the video to both my daughter and granddaughter, and I could tell it hit a chord with them. In fact, reminded them of the movie Soul Surfer and how that young lady overcame adversity to get back on the surfboard and surf again. I reminded them that people like this little girl are the true heroes in life because they don’t accept “I can’t” or “It’s too hard” as valid excuses for not doing their best, or overcoming things that they are challenged with. I really appreciate your blog about this incredible young lady.

      • Thank you…I am still overwhelmed by this little girl…imagine the wide open possibilities for her life. I’m glad your daughter and granddaughter enjoyed the video. Tell them hi from me, I’m sure they are both remarkable young ladies.

        Be encouraged!

      • I will, and yes, this little lady is going to be something amazing when she is older if at this age she is already overcoming adversity.

  1. That’s awesome!! 🙂

  2. That is truly inspiring, I can just imagine her attitude and admire her courage for not letting her disability define or stop her, although I doubt she looks at herself as having a disability.

  3. free penny press on said:

    Society, peer presure, etc is where young children learn their limitations.. this little jewel has learned from a young age that no matter what she encounters in this world, she CAN and Will succeed.
    She is just precious..wonderful read for me as I end this work day.
    thank you for sharing her with us!
    Lynne

    • I agree with you about society, peers, etc, but I believe our children learn most of their limitations from their parents/guardians. I hear it every day, What are you doing!? Get over here now! You can’t do that! Stop that this instant! What were you thinking!? and on and on it goes. Each day my wife and I try to stunt the impact of those thoughts and words. We’ve stopped parents in restaurants, malls, sidewalks, gas stations, rest areas, airports, schools, and just about anywhere you can think of where they get caught up in the moment and lose sight of what is really important…to make every encounter a teaching moment for their child.

      • free penny press on said:

        Yes you are absolutely correct about the parent/family issue.. i too have no qualms about calming interrupting bad behavior by parents..As a mother to 5, I am very proud to say i lifted up my children with grace & encouragement and now the world has 5 more loving, compassionate people in it.

        Kudos to you and your wife..more people lead to follow your example!

      • Mother to 5…are you serious???…you should be writing my blogs and I should sipping an ice cold sweet tea out on the veranda. In all seriousness…Susie and I tip out hats to you and add you to our prayer list. You are the best.

        Be encouraged!

      • free penny press on said:

        Thank you 🙂

  4. Makes me feel ashamed for my own petty complaints, and for not rising to overcome any little difficulty; what a wonderful example is this little Annie. Thanks Stephen! Hope your week is happy, ~ Lily

    • Hi Lily, Sorry about the delay in getting back to you…one of those “family emergency” type things…do your kids ever really grow up?

      Sorry for the rant…but there are those moments.

      Isn’t Annie the best? Do you know why she got the Penmanship Award? Because nobody told her she couldn’t!

      Be encouraged!

  5. This post just made me so happy. I love seeing people who push their limits and prove people wrong. I used to see disabled children when I was in school and everyone made fun of them. But if they took the time to actually watch them, they would see that disabled children are really smart and think in ways that no one would even think to. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hey Thanks for your kind words…I had the same experience when I was in school…all we can do is keep working to challenge people to look at their world through different lenses.

      Be encouraged!

  6. Inspiring. I imagine she’ll probably grown up to put the rest of our handwriting to shame!

  7. What an inspiring story… Thanks for sharing it. 😉

Leave a Reply

