LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

Virtue #6–Benevolence

http://www.freechurchaccounting.com/benevolence-policy.html

BENEVOLENCE

At http://dictionary.reference.com underneath this:

benevolence

[buh-nev-uh-luhns]     Origin

Brain Training Games
www.lumosity.com
Improve Memory with Scientifically Designed Exercises – Free Trial!
Bi Polar Test
healthyweb.com
Find Out If You Have Bi Polar In (9) Simple Questions.

Why Men Pull Away
CatchHimAndKeepHim.com
10 Ugly Mistakes Women Make That Ruins Any Chances Of A Relationship
I found this:

be·nev·o·lence

[buh-nev-uh-luhns]  Show IPA

noun

1.

desire to do good to others; goodwill; charitableness: to befilled with benevolence toward one’s fellow creatures.
2.

an act of kindness; a charitable gift.
3.

English History . a forced contribution to the sovereign.
Because, you know when I think of benevolence, the very next three things that come trotting through my mind is Brain Training Games, Bi-Polar Testing, and Why Men Pull Away. Whoa! those catchy Google-ites, they are on to me.
Sometimes the world I inhabit truly amazes me .
But I digress.
Benevolence is making a comeback. Not that it ever officially left the scene, but it definitely ebbed considerably during the unabashedly greedy era. We became more concerned with IPOs, LBOs, and several other acronyms all associated with making money by moving paper around instead of actually producing anything. We forgot there were people less fortunate than us.
Now that benevolence is making a resurgence it needs a new name and image. You remember bell bottoms from the 60’s and 70’s, well it is sort of like that. When bell bottoms began to return in the early 2000’s they were called flared legs. Same thing, just a new marketing scheme. Same scenario with ladies jeans that ride on the hips. In my day, they were called hip huggers. I haven’t made the effort to find out what they are called now, because I could care less. The only way I know they aren’t called hip huggers any more is because I referred to them as hip huggers when talking to my daughter and she started laughing uncontrollably. Between giggles she said, “Dad you are so out of it.” I interpreted that as her way of saying she admired me and when she finally grows up she wants to be just like me.
Benevolence is now cutting edge, except we can’t call it benevolence anymore for fear someone will think we are old and out of touch with what is happening. So now we call it philanthropy. It is just as hard to spell and equally as difficult to pronounce so it is a win-win situation for everybody. I am going to continue to refer to it as benevolence, because I am old and old fashion, and I’m writing this post and can pretty much decide to do whatever I want.
There are some very large companies that have decided to push at least some of their money from the profit column into the let’s make the world a better place by helping out those who need it column. I’ve listed a few below, but trust me there are literally thousands more:
  • Wal-Mart                   $319,454,996
  • Goldman Sachs       $315,383,413
  • Wells Fargo               $219,132,065
  • Bank of America     $207,939,857
  • Exxon Mobil             $198,692,197

Some of these are my favorite companies to intensely dislike, but the above info came from http://philanthropy.com, so I trust the figures, even if I don’t entirely embrace the companies themselves.

Then there are other companies doing some remarkable things.

TOMS is owned by Blake Mycoskie. His company makes some very cool shoes and eyewear. When you purchase a pair of shoes they give a pair of shoes to a child somewhere in the world. Sounds simple enough doesn’t it? To date TOMS has given away over one million shoes throughout the world. Their eyewear division has given sight to over 45,000 people and they just started.

Since the inception of Patagonia in 1985 they have given 1% of sales to environmental issues around the world. How much money? I’m not sure and couldn’t find any specific figures but it is in multi-millions of dollars.

Ben & Jerry’s, the ice cream company, although no longer owned by the founders, but now owned by the conglomerate Unilever still commits 7.5% of pre-tax profit to charitable organizations.

There are tens (if not hundreds) of thousands of churches that have designated not only finances, but also provided personnel to assist in a variety of humanitarian aid.

So benevolence lives, but where do we stand? Do we have a stranglehold on our hard earned cash? Do we guard our precious free time? Our we a little stingy with our resources?

The company Susie and I have founded, LifeRevelation is committed to donating 1% of all our fees back to the community wherein we speak. It is our small way of saying thanks and trying to do something to help.

Benevolence can take on many different forms, in many different areas of your life. I believe it can apply to your marriage, your children, co-workers, friends, family members, the guy behind you at McDonalds. Think about it…is there some way you can help? Do what you can.

Be encouraged!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Virtue #6–Benevolence

  1. Dave on said:

    Sometimes, it can be small things. I.E. I always leave the change in vending machines. Hiding a dollar, somewhere for someone to find. Leave snacks for everyone in work breakroom. Pay for someone’s fast food drive-through order behind you.

    Never leave a calling card. It becomes a source of enjoyment.

  2. Dave on said:

    I like this one, Stephen.

    I wanted to mention that you should put your blog as one of the links in your gravatar profile so that it’s easy to get here. Sometimes I want to go to your blog, but I’ll be busy or forget the name, and then I won’t be able to find it unless I go to my reader “Blogs I follow”.

    Just an idea. Hope you’re doing well! Again, great post.

  3. First of all i wanted to encourage Dave for all those good gestures….we can also incorporate them in our lives, they are easy.
    I believe their are many elderly sitting out there in coffee shops or cafe’s.We can once in a while share some time with them over lunch, dinner or coffee.Time is the most scarce of all resources/Elders have lots of it, and they need someone to share it with them.
    Picking up an extra meal, and giving it on our way to work or home to someone whose homeless and maybe hungry too.
    Smiles, waves, hugs are all a way to show your concerns, especially to those who need it like patients in hospitals….well they can also be happy with flowers too!
    Kids are the most benevolent, they wave when they cross you in a car and make your day!They smile unconditionally, and are most expressive.We have alot to learn from them.

    • Dave, I think is one of those types of guys who lives what he preaches…I don’t know him, but I get this feeling.

      When I grow up I want to be just as transparent, honest, sweet, innocent, open, loving, and kind as a kid…that is my life’s goal.

      Be encouraged!

  4. = ) advance happy fathers’ day stephen! I love this post, and I love that word; that virtue. And thanks for sharing = )

    • Thank you for all your gracious words, Aina. I deeply appreciate hearing from you. Oh…and thanks for the Father’s Day shout out, also. I’m glad you enjoyed this post…hope you are having a great week.

      Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

