LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

Maybe it is I am just getting old, but here is what I like to think it is…I like to think there is something tremendous going on in the world. The world that we read of every day in the newspaper or hear about on the news is reckless, dangerous, and full impending collapse and failure. But the one I read and see in the blog world is one of hope, enchantment, and delight. There are ordinary people without huge commercial endorsements or advanced degrees who are doing small random acts of compassionate kindness. These people are changing the world for other people. Not lots of other people…it isn’t a global movement, but I feel safe in saying the people you see on this video will never forget the day a total stranger with a few of his friends walked up to them in a park and gave them a gift.
This is how we change the world…we start by smiling while we are out in public, we hold the door for whoever is next, we say thank you and please, we make pleasant eye contact, we don’t talk on our cell phones while at the check out, we acknowledge that ALL people are worthy of our time and attention.
Watch this video, then reblog it. Spread the word. Be kind. Be loving. Be real…and of course…Be encouraged!

Live & Learn

Lucas, a Brazilian man, moves to Australia and is grateful for the country and its people for open their arms to him.  On his 30th birthday, he decides to thank 30 complete strangers in Sydney by handing them each a gift.  “Man’s first responsibility is to be happy…The second is to make everyone else happy.”  Video is paired with beautiful music (This is the place where I feel at home…).

30 gifts to 30 strangers in Sydney from Lucas Jatoba on Vimeo.


Related Feel-Good Video Posts:

View original post

Single Post Navigation

33 thoughts on “

  1. livvy1234 on said:

    I resonated deeply with what you wrote. I am noticing that on wordpress there is a movement of sorts taking place. There are many people shining light on what we need to do to evolve. The Dalai Lama, when asked what his religion is, stated, “My religion is kindness.” Kindness is the way out of suffering for one and all. Great video~

    • I believe you are right…and I hope we are able to fly under the radar of every major news outlet forever…the reason is once the major news corps pick it up, then you become the latest flavor…I have no desire for this to be the next cool thing to do…I want this to be who we are.

      Be encouraged!

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words on said:

    as usual, you led me to a wonderful post..Thank You Stephen…
    My husband and grandson’s birthdays are coming up…I think this may be a new tradtion…..
    Thank You…( tissue alert though, I cry at words that touch the heart and i am so sure many others grabbed for one too!)
    Take Care Stephen…
    )0(
    ladybluerose

    • I will admit to all that I composed my post while tears streamed down my face…and I hope everyone who sees the video will be deeply effected…I believe in my heart that lives can be changed through the simplest of methods…this isn’t rocket science…let’s just be nice to one another…no matter what!

      Be encouraged!

      • With the shootings in Aurora CO. looming over us all, I wish more kindness and loving messages would be spread as well. The tragic stories get so much press but it’s the kind, sweet ways of living that guide and change us for the better. I do believe there is a movement to share the beauty of living. Writers are/can be a significant part of that. We can be catalysts. I’m encouraged.:)

      • I have stayed away from commenting on the Aurora tragedy because I simply don’t have the words to express the deep remorse I feel. I can’t imagine the thought process that takes place inside the brain of one who can commit such a horrendous act. I hope, pray, and trust that the work we are doing on our blogs and in our lives will indeed change the world. That those who stand on the brink of such insanity will be reached well before they commit to such unthinkable actions.

        Thanks Bren for taking the time time to comment. I always enjoy your comments. Best wishes and hope you and yours have a great week.

        Be encouraged!

    • I hope it will be a new tradition…and what a wonderful model for your Grandson to follow.

      Be encouraged!

  3. Stephen,
    I don’t know if you have read about this guy in Oklahoma or not, but we need more people like him on this planet.

    http://www.abcactionnews.com/dpp/news/local_news/water_cooler/man-hands-out-cash-on-road-for-his-birthday

  4. And to me that has nothing to do with the money, I would have been as impressed if he shook peoples hands

  5. Wow, that’s totally inspired me – I love stuff like that. I’m going to do something similar! Brilliant, thank you so much for sharing that. 🙂

  6. Dave on said:

    What if we all…………….I guess not then, those profiting with war would have to figure out how to profit with peace…..

    What a grand gesture on all levels.

    • I am willing to research ways of profiting from peace…it isn’t profiting that bothers me…it is unabashed greed running amok through our society, without regard for anyone or anything that bothers me.

      But Dave I think we can change the world…from the bottom up.

      Be encouraged!

      • Dave on said:

        Those profiting the most from war have thee where with all to profit from peace.

        From their perspective, ‘I’m doing just fine sacrificing everybody else on this earth for my greed.’ Not to upset the apple cart?…….

        Guess the people exercising these gestures as in this post will have to step up. This will be how, it begins from the bottom up.

        What if, they gave a war, and nobody came……Instead, we all came with gifts? As you say, greed must lose its’ place.

      • What if they gave a war and we all came with gifts?

        OMG…that is great…I love it…and I’m old enough to have the hippie strings of my heart tugged on.

        Thanks Dave…that is priceless.

        Be encouraged!

  7. free penny press on said:

    NO doubt there is a universal shift happening.. people are reaching insides and finding their “lost” humanities..
    this is a wonderful post and thank you for sharing with us all!

  8. Steve, I so agree with your comment on this reblog. They are similar reflections to something I am working through at the moment. As my son says, “One step at a time,” but sometimes that seems such a slow, sad process. Thanks, Jane

  9. Beautiful sentiment and video….Diane

  10. If we see the world through happy, joyful, loving lenses our experiences are happy joyful and loving. If we see the world through dark, negative, miserable lenses then that’s exactly what we find in the world around us.

    Stephen, it doesn’t surprise me that you see kindness, beauty, hope, and love all around you. Light attracts light. : )

    • Thanks Lisa…I love getting your comments. I do try to see the “up” side in everything, mostly because it just plain sucks to be depressed all the time.

      I haven’t read any of posts today, but that I’ve laughed hysterically at the last two.

      Be encouraged!

  11. I like the part about the blog world being one of “hope, enchantment, and delight.” Yes, I do think that is in large part True. And, you are one of its hopeful and delightful people, Stephen. Thank you for that. (You likely are enchanting as well, but I’m sure you save the best of your enchantment for Susie so I will leave that adjective for her to use, if she wishes : ) Hope all is well and happy with you and your family!
    ~ Lily

    • OMG…Lily girl how are you…your comments are sorely missed by this old soul. I hope all is well in your world.

      I do save the best of my enchantment for Susie, but alas she knows all the Truth about me so she is not easily swayed. hahaha. You know the old saying that goes, “she bends, but doesn’t break.” Well Susie doesn’t bend. Not a little, not a degree, not at all, but that is perfect for someone such as I. 🙂

      Miss you much…hope every little thing is perfect with you and all of yours.

      Be encouraged!

  12. I have recently become addicted to RAOK. Before I could never think of things to do, I just smiled and tried to be the best version of myself as often as possible. However I recently read a blog about a lady who spent her birthday running around with her family in tow, performing a Random Act of Kindness for each year she had been alive. It inspired me with ideas so much that now I can’t stop them 🙂 I just do them without even thinking. It makes my family smile at the simple gestures of love it shows them and that is the best gift isn’t it? I agree about your view of the wonderful blogosphere, I too find it gives me a new hope for a world that has caused my heart to grieve for it’s future on many occasions. Amen! Blessings to you!

    • What a wonderful addiction to have…I am so in hopes this kind of thing catches on…from the bottom up.

      Thanks for sharing your heart…I greatly appreciate your gracious words.

      Be encouraged!

    • livvy1234 on said:

      I experienced much joy helping shelter dogs bound for euthanasia. I spent two years going into their cages, bathing them, playing, comforting, massaging them. The dogs taught me a lot about living in the moment as best you can with a smile. All the dogs smiled in the worst of circumstance. Many of my lessons about kindness come from animals.

      • While I realize my attitude toward animals lands me squarely in the liberal, tree hugging, granola eating camp, it isn’t something I can help. When we take in our strays they become members of the family…with the same rules…we don’t walk on the areas where food is prepared and eaten and neither do they…we don’t poop and pee on the floor and neither do they…we don’t sit around and beg for food and neither do they (well not too much). We take them in as family members and allow their personalities to develop without coercion from us. They seem relaxed and peaceful and so are we.

        I once saw a T-shirt that adequately expresses my heart’s desire in life…”Please God, let me be the person my dog thinks I am.” 🙂

        Be encouraged!

  13. Pingback: 4:17 am and inspired… – Lead.Learn.Live.

    • Major thanks Dave for including my writing in your source of inspiration post…I’m always amazed when something I’ve written strikes a cord.

      Blessings to you and yours.

      Be encouraged!

  14. I love this guy. We need more person like that. The only way to change this world is to take action and show it to everyone. http://www.happiness-seekers.info

    • You are right, we do need more people like this guy…I’m hoping the mere fact we are getting the word about him will inspire others to act likewise.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

