LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

For You

http://www.desicomments.com/flowers/good-afternoon-flowers-for-you/

This post is going to ramble somewhat, but hopefully you will extend me a little grace as I get to my point for writing today.

Maybe it is because I spent the afternoon with a couple of old friends who race bicycles and we just had a great time talking as they laid down some very respectable times on a 12 mile time trial. We reminisced about the old days and how we were getting along as age begins to affect our riding abilities.

I guess it could be that I just finished reading the autobiography of a rock icon who I have followed for over 42 years, Gregg Allman.  I remember the effect of the Allman Brothers’ Live at the Fillmore album had on me some 38 years ago. As a youngster, all of 17 years of age, I was simply blown away. Now I listen to him with tears in my eyes. Our lives have paralleled one another in many remarkable ways, but the thing that got me the most was when he has spoken about how he felt regarding his music. The power of believing rock n’ roll could save your soul. I felt that for a long time and it was a very rude awakening when I discovered possibly the complete opposite was true.

Or it might be that today is Sunday. And Sunday’s have always produced a certain melancholy mood in me. Even long before I became a Christian, when I was about as far away as one could get from any type of moral, ethical lifestyle I would feel a difference on Sunday. If I were on a multi-day bender of cocaine, alcohol, and debauchery, when Sunday rolled around I always pulled back from the edge. Many times I would take off by myself and just go someplace where I could be alone. I remember several times I parked across the street from a church as it was letting out. I watched as they came out, talking, laughing, the kids running, and the couples walking arm in arm. Some carried a black book that I was fairly sure was the Bible. I sat there in my new black-on-black Porsche  928 and wondered why people would get up early and come to this building. I thought about what they did in there. I was completely unchurched and didn’t have a clue as to how it worked. But still I wondered what it would be like to go.

Of course, it could also simply be that I am not as young as used to be. The truth is I have probably lived more days than I’m going to live. That thought never ceases to amaze me. I’m not sure why, but it always does.

I’m writing all of this because I am warming up to something that I want to say: to quote Janis’ I want to share a little piece of my heart with you.

I started this blog back in February and I didn’t have any idea what to expect. I knew there where ideas I wanted to write about. Ideas about honesty, and truth, and respect, and boundaries, and morality, and love, and compassion, and a zillion other things, but I didn’t know how they/me would be a accepted. And it was me. My thoughts and ideas and the words I write, well they are me. They are how I live my life. They can’t be separated from me. They are me.

I want you to know how deeply you have touched the very depths of my soul by your open acceptance. Every comment you have written and every time you selected the Like tab has brought a smile to my face and a grateful feeling to my heart. There have been a couple of thousand comments and I have no idea how many likes from all over the world, but each and every one has been like a soft breeze blowing straight across my heart. That breeze brought refreshment, encouragement, and enlightenment to a parched soul.

There are far too many of you to thank individually and I’m afraid if I were to call out a few it would perhaps diminish what the rest would take away from this post. So I’m resisting the urge to do that, because I want everyone of you who have used the valuable (and limited) time in your life to read, like, and/or comment to know you have lifted my Spirit.

So from the very bottom of my overflowing heart…I humbly thank you.

I bow before you.

Be encouraged!

Single Post Navigation

42 thoughts on “For You

  1. No ramblings at all…I am sure a lot of us here can appreciate what this post is saying. Thank you for sharing your heart…thank you for always encouraging and supporting.

    Thank you!!!

    • Sometimes when I read the heartache some of those who follow my blog are going through…I just want to get up, drive over to their house, set out on the front porch and talk until everything gets better…I think I take after my Mom.

      Be encouraged!

  2. A gripping life on said:

    Gee, I wonder why people respond to your ramblings in such a positive way?? Could it be that, you my friend, are a soft comforting breeze in our lives, writing beautiful posts like this that express everything that we feel on such a deep and intimate level? Your kind encouragement and thoughtful instincts fill my cup – always. Thanks for being such a force for good and sharing your journey with us.
    Blessings to you!
    Lisa

    • Geesh Lisa…I’ve got tears in my eyes just reading your comment…I am so humbled and awed by what you wrote…thank, thank you, thank you.

      I wonder if it isn’t just this easy…maybe instead of all the walls we put up, all the posturing we do, all the things we hide behind, if we just came clean and said, “Hey, I love you. You make me feel wonderful inside.” Our world might be a different place.

      I love all of you…you are the best!

      Be encouraged!

      • a gripping life on said:

        One thing I know for sure, we will never regret loving each other. : )

      • No Lisa we never will…

        God bless you dear heart…you have been such a conduit of love, insight, and down-right snorting humor…I cherish every moment of it.

        Be encouraged!

  3. Great post Stephen. Thank YOU for your enthusiasm.

  4. I truly enjoy the honesty and feeling that come through your writing. Thanks!

  5. livvy1234 on said:

    Stephen, I appreciate your honesty. I had a run in with drugs many years ago, too. I am not afraid to speak my truth. That was then and now is now. Now is the best time of my life. I have taken the journey to myself, and realize the depth and width of my perception and hard won wisdom.

    I appreciate your authenticity. That is what I aim for, too. How to be intimate with myself and others. We are all fellow travelers. Since you are giving thanks today, I would like to thank you, for pressing the like button on my blog, too. You have no idea what it means to me. Blessings, sending love and light to you and yours.

    • You know I suspect I DO know what you feel when I press the Like button on your blog…all of us aren’t very much different from one another…we all want to be loved, valued, told and shown we have worth. Pretty simple when you think about it.

      So today everyone who comments I am saying…I love you!

      Be encouraged!

  6. thankyou for your constant and unwavering support. It is like having a friend in my computer. Everytime I write something I know you are going to come along at some point and say something encouraging and warm and positive. That means a lot. So this thankyou you are saying should really be boomeranging back to you x

  7. free penny press on said:

    You were one of the first people to leave me an encouraging comment when I started my wee blog back in the spring.. I’ll never forget how nice it was to read positive, encouraging words..You my running man (remember, I told you my Dad was a marathoner) life each of us in many ways so it’s only natural it be returned to you..
    From me to you it is I that thanks you!!!
    Lynne

    • I do indeed remember those early words when I tried my best to encourage you. I still vividly remember hesitantly moving the cursor arrow over the publish button for the first time…beads of sweat, stomach churning, and a OMG what am I about to do…I must have checked spelling at least twenty times and had Susie check the grammar until she finally threw up her hands and left the office, refusing to return until I hit the stupid publish button. I think she said something along the lines of…”OMG Stephen it’s not like you are Mark Twain or anything.” I’m telling you that woman is nothing if not honest…hahaha.

      So I will try to encourage newbies…after all none of us are born with knowledge and wisdom…we just acquire from others along the way.

      I love you…you are the best…except for the aforementioned wife. 🙂

      Be encouraged!

  8. Aawesome!!! Love you

    • Aw Honey, it is important to remember none of this would be happening if it weren’t for your ever-encompassing love that has always been through the thinnest of thin and the thickest of thick.

      Literally you are my everything.

      I pledge my eternal love to you and to you alone.

      *Ladies and Gentleman who read my blog, please forgive this interlude of personal gushing you are currently reading, but this woman has been the greatest asset in my life. Her love goes beyond anything I could have ever imagined and far beyond what I would ever have deserved.

      She is my encouragement!

  9. Nice post, Steve. So we started blogs at the same time. Judging from yours, I think you’re doing much better with Suzie than Gregg Allman has done with Cher or his other 5 wives plus various non-wives. Give yourself a pat on the back!

    • Thank you for those kind words…but let me tell you a story about Gregory (who I am currently listening to as I write this). He did an interview sometime ago when his sixth wife was in the process of leaving him. When the subject got around to his love life he slowly leaned forward until his elbows were resting on his knees. Slowly he lifted his misty eyes until they met the gaze of the interviewer and with that long slow southern drawl that can only come from hard living and choice of geography he said, “You know man…I’m startin’ to think it might be me.”

      OMG…I nearly fell out of chair laughing…you think?…maybe chasing (and getting) every skirt that came by, years of alcohol abuse, and drug addiction, in connection with being gone for months at a time might have had something to do with causing six women to flee like the house was on fire…but you know that is why I love him so much…for years and years I was just like him…we are old war horses put out to pasture and now just enjoying the world as it passes by. Although I hear he is engaged to be married to #7 here soon…and while he is nearing in on 65, she is 24…Gregg will be rock n’ roll until the day the close the lid.

      Be encouraged!

  10. Stephen…. This was indeed a touching post, and I can only return your humble thanks, for having the strength of character to share your heart with people, with no holds barred, completely revealing your self… not yourself, but your self…

    As one who has traveled a very parallel path, though we started with different beginnings, I find we had very similar middles, and survived those times to reach the point of writing some final chapters, now that we’ve reached a point where the perspective can be of use….

    Your positivity encourages me when I start to think of how many folks out there live in a negative state, and how few positive thinkers there are, among those few who do think, such as you and I…. You know, I’m sure, that we ended up in different places regarding Christianity, but, I consider you to be what I call a true Christian, like my brother and sister, people who live in a Christly fashion, rather than strictly according to dogma, and don’t limit their knowledge to only one book…. I have no quarrel at all with true Christians, as long as they don’t proselytize, in which case I tend to let out my sardonicism to play for a while….

    Any who…. keep up the good work, it’s nice to see someone who always looks for the bright side of life, no matter how dark it gets…. 🙂 Blessed Be, brother…

    • Your words are kind Brother…as far as Christianity is concerned, I have always believed we are the worst representatives of God that we could possibly be. If you judge Him by us…well Let’s just say I can more than understand why people struggle with wanting anything to do with His followers.

      Thanks for all the encouragement…I read your posts with delight and awe…keep it up.

      I love you.

      Be encouraged!

  11. You have expressed feelings here and shared a story that many of us can relate to. The blogosphere is a wonderful element of our world where people can share themselves openly and be encouraged. It took me so long to join you all here, I was scared. Now I am sorry I missed so much of this while I waited for courage to find me. Keep writing, keep encouraging all of us, May the love of the Lord shine out for all to see. God is so Good! Blessings to you!

  12. I would like you to know what an inspiration you are to me. Keep on keeping on! xx

  13. Pingback: Have you reached ‘Peak Life’ yet? | the ChangeYourLife blog

  14. You inspired me to write a blog post: http://bit.ly/NWxwyN (Thanks!)

  15. Thank you, Stephen!!! Whenever I come here, I know I’ll be leaving, just a little more…………encouraged!

    Yes, I am, encouraged.

  16. You’re welcome. I feel the same about your thoughtful comments and encouragement. 🙂

  17. I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate and admire your writing a great deal!

    I read a few pages of Allman’s book in the library recently and was very impressed with it, I should take it out the next time I’m there.

    • Want to hear something ironic…I read a few pages of it in the library…then checked it out and read it all in one night.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment…and for your gracious words…I deeply appreciate them.

      Be encouraged

  18. Beautiful post, thanks for sharing that!

  19. Well, I for one am glad to have found you, because you offer something interesting to read and talk about. Just don’t go running off anywhere!

Leave a Reply

