LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

Honestly…when we encounter someone who is just…well plainly speaking, a jerk…isn’t our first inward reaction to feel a twinge of anger? “What an idiot.” we think. This isn’t just food for thought…this is food to nourish us while we change our lives.

Be encouraged!

Bright, shiny objects!

Live Life Quotes, Love Life Quotes, Live Life Happy

via Never Underestimate The Pain Of A Person.

View original post

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “

  1. Admittedly I have had that reaction without any idea of why, the person is being a jerk. Gives me cause to think, forgive, and move forward.

    After all, this may be the only way they know as an outlet for pain. Not an excuse for being that way but, certainly a possible explanation.

    There are no more jerks. Only people carrying around pain, frustration, and pressure. It happens…..

    I have been a jerk but, cognizant enough to try to take measures to prevent that behavior which gives me reason to be, encouraged.

  2. This is a great message. There is a good quote by Plato that says “Be kind. For everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” It’s hard to not judge other people and to let things roll off your back and to not get mad. But when we keep things like this in mind, I think it helps us to become brighter, stronger people. 🙂

    • The Plato quote is excellent…hard to go wrong with a guy who is still being quoted 2300 years after his death…I’m thinking Steve Jobs and Bill Gates really have their work cut out for them…but I digress…

      When we can be compassionate and loving then we are extending the ripple effect and no one knows how far those ripples extend nor their affect.

      Many decades ago, in another lifetime, I was arrested by a police officer. While being transported to jail he pulled the cruiser over, put it in park, turned around in his seat to face me as I sat behind the steel screen separating us. In a calm and clear voice twinged with care he said, “Steve, I’ve arrested many hardened criminals in my 20+ years on the force and I’m going to tell you something. Right now you want people to believe you are a real hard ass, but you don’t really believe it yourself. In fact, you know better. You know the truth. Inside you are as kind and as nice as the next person. Why don’t you give up this shit. Go straight, get a job, get married, raise a few kids, and quit looking over your shoulder every second of the day.”

      I looked him square in the eye and said, “Why don’t you do your job and leave the preaching to the ministers in church.”

      He smiled and said, “Okay have it your way, but you know in your heart that I told you the truth.”

      It’s been over 30 years since I heard those words and I can still repeat them verbatim.

      He was right.

      It took a while, but his actions of that night (along with several others) finally took root.

      God bless the compassionate, because no one knows what effect it might have, nor when.

      Be encouraged!

      • What a great story. Good for you for listening to those words and letting them take root rather than brushing them away and ignoring them. Thanks for sharing that with me!

      • Just remember it took many years for the officer’s words to take root. They lay dormant, but not forgotten.

        We have no way of knowing how our words and actions ripple out through those we interact with.

        One should never live, without thinking how one lives.

        Be encouraged!

  3. I so agree with this statement. When my children were young and would come home from school frustrated with another student’s negative behavior I always used to say there is probably a story behind their actions. Although difficult at times, I try to understand the behavior and not judge the person solely on how they are conducting themselves. This approach opened the door for greater compassion and tolerance. That being said, I also tried to teach my children how to stand up for themselves with confidence and dignity when someone treats them in a mean-spirited manner. Thank you for showcasing by reblogging this valuable lesson.

Leave a Reply

