LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

While this blog discusses character flaws as related to writing. I think there might be some insight to our real lives.

Be encouraged!

Live to Write - Write to Live

Whether your writing is plot-driven or character-driven, there’s no arguing that strong characters are a critical element of any story. But how does one craft the kind of characters that draw readers in and inspire an emotional connection?

The secret ingredient for a perfect character

I’ve been on a bit of a self-study kick lately – reading all kinds of books, articles, and magazines on the craft of writing. I’m easily enthralled by essays on the origin of story, fascinated by discourse on the merits of one fiction structure over another, and find myself staying up late to read about the finer points of manuscript submissions, publishing platforms, and book promotion. I am a humble student, hungry to know more.

One of my recent impulse purchases was a slim Kindle book called The Screenwriter’s Fairytale: The Universal Story Within All Movie Stories by screenwriter and producer, Todd Klick. I’m slightly…

View original post 892 more words

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “

  1. Characters are more ‘real’ when we see their flaws, we do feel more connected because of them. I had to find a redeeming feature for a disgusting character in one of my novels…it took sometime but I found one! Great post I will be referring back to a lot. Thanks

  2. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie) on said:

    TKS for the reblog, Stephen! 🙂

Leave a Reply

