LifeRevelation

Life is a Revelation…be encouraged

Where The Grey Matter Pours Out

It is said that elephants never forget……………. anything.

Elephants can be trained when they are babies, not to roam.
One leg of a baby elephant is tied with a rope to a wooden post that is firmly seated in the ground, or to a tree.

The rope makes sure the baby elephant is restricted to the space determined by the length of the rope.
At first the baby elephant tries to break away from the rope, but the rope is too strong.

The baby elephant “learns” that it can’t break the rope.
Then the elephant grows up and has become strong, without much effort the full-grown elephant can obviously break the same rope.
Because it “learned” at a young age that it couldn’t break the rope, the adult elephant believes that it still can’t break the rope, so it doesn’t even try!

That my friends is a true account of…

View original post 303 more words

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “

  1. livvy1234 on said:

    I do not think I will ever finish deprogramming cultural messages of institutions, family, teachers, on an on. Just got the book “The Fourth Way,” by PD Ouspensky. Will do my own commentary on the differences between Krishnamurti thought and Ouspensky who seems to be concerned with man as a lying animal: man’s lying to himself about himself. Quoting-

    “There is a definite obstacle, a definite reason why we cannot have consciousness as we are. The chief obstacle in the way of development is lying. The psychology of lying is really the most important paart of the study of the human being. If a human could be described as a zoological type, he would be described as a lying animal.”

    Are we not trained from birth to live a certain way, believe a certain belief, and not to question what we are told to believe?

  2. We are trained from birth to be obedient, for sure. We also possess free will as human beings ( and I am not trying to turn this into a theological discussion) and at some point we exercise it. I sincerely hope someone would question something they believe to be untrue or not right according to their beliefs, I also hope all of us as a species will figure out its better to try and fail and get back up and try again than just follow mindlessly and numb.
    As for humans being lying animals, that is something we are taught, by watching others do it.
    Thanks for the re-blog Stephen 🙂

    • I agree with you 100%…including the not wanting to turn this into a theological discussion…lol.

      Be encouraged!

      • livvy1234 on said:

        A topic for discussion. Jungian therapist and author Richard Tarnas has written many books” “Is the Modern Psyche Undergoing a Rite of Passage?”

        “Coming generations will have to take account of this momentous transformation if humanity is not to destroy itself through the might of its own technology and science – so much is at stake and so much depends on the psychological constitution of the human being.”

        (Re: elephants – does anyone know the suffering a elephants endure to go into the jungle and get teak wood?)

      • You’ve got to quit with the books…by current calcualtions I need to live to be 213 years old in order to read all the books I have on my list…

        Re elephants and teak wood…no.

        Be encouraged!

      • livvy1234 on said:

        Okay, I will quit with the books. LOL

      • Okay…not really…it’s just that I am addicted…early in our marriage my wife complained about the number of books I was buying…I told her I had never regretted buying a book in my lifetime, but I had been married before…hahaha.

        Be encouraged!

      • livvy1234 on said:

        RE: books and more books
        I was keeping a list of “good books” to read, and recently threw the list away. I cannot keep up with all I want to read. I have been taking a look at this. It makes me tense inside. I enjoy reading slowly, savoring what I read. I don’t buy books anymore either. I go to Goodwill stores, browse used book stores, rescue missions, and different local libraries. I am a book hound, but need to keep my hunting in check. Then there is the issue of too many wonderful essays, and pdf files online. yikes!

      • You are a soul mate…I understand exactly…My concept of life after death is time to read without being interrupted. 🙂

        Be encouraged!

Leave a Reply

